Curriculum Vitae


1957-1964  Study Economics, Erasmus University, Rotterdam
1964-1971  Lecturer and Research Fellow (with Prof. Jan Tinbergen), Erasmus University Netherlands Economic Institute, Division of Balanced International Growth, Rotterdam
1971-1973  Member of Parliament, The Netherlands (Labour Party, PvdA)
1973-1977  Minister for Development Co-operation, The Netherlands (Cabinet den Uyl)
1978-1980  Member of Parliament, The Netherlands (Labour Party, PvdA)
1978-1980  Professor Theory and Practice of International Development, Institute of Social Studies (ISS), The Hague
1980-1986  Deputy Secretary-General United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD, Assistant Secretary General UN), Geneva
1986-1989  Member of Parliament, The Netherlands (Labour Party, PvdA)
1988-1989  Professor Theory and Practice of Policy Making, University of Amsterdam
1989-1994  Minister for Development Co-operation, The Netherlands (Cabinet Lubbers III)
1992           Acting Minister of Defence (idem)
1994-1998  Minister for Development Co-operation (Cabinet Kok I)
1998-2002  Minister of Environment, Spatial Planning and Housing (Cabinet Kok II)
2002-2004  Professor Theory and Practice of International Development, Institute of Social Studies (ISS), The Hague
2004-2006  Special Representative Secretary General of the United Nations in Sudan (SRSG/USG). Head United Nations Peace Mission in Sudan (UNMIS), Khartoum
2007-2011  Professor Theory and Practice of International Development, International Institute of Social Studies (ISS, The Hague) of Erasmus University, Rotterdam. Presently Professor Emeritus ISS
2009-present  Visiting Professor United Nations University for Peace (UPeace), Costa Rica



  • Lecturer United Nations Institute of Economic Planning, Bangkok, 1968,
  • Member, World Council of Churches Commission on the Participation of Churches in Development (WCC/CCPD), 1969-1973
  • Alternate Governor World Bank, 1973-1977 and 1989-1998
  • Member, Development Committee of the World Bank, 1974-1977 and 1989-1998
  • Chairman, Intergovernmental Group on Indonesia (IGGI), 1973-1977 and 1989-1992
  • Chairman, Committee of the Whole, 7th Special Session of the General Assembly of the United Nations, 1975
  • Chairman, World Council of Churches Advisory Group on Economic Matters, 1978-1987
  • Member, Independent Commission on International Development Issues (Brandt Commission), 1977-1983
  • Member, International Commission for the Study of Communication Problems (MacBride Commission), 1978-1980
  • Chairman, Advisory Group on Economic Matters, World Council of Churches, Geneva, 1978-1985
  • Deputy Secretary General, United Nations Conference on the Least Developed Countries, Paris, 1981
  • Member, Board International School, Geneva, 1981-1986
  • Member, Socialist International Committee on Economic Policy, 1984-1987
  • Member, Commission on Global Governance (Carlsson/Ramphal Commission), 1991-1995
  • Co-Chairman, Global Coalition for Africa, 1991-1998
  • Member, Independent Commission on Population and the Quality of Life (Commission de Lourdes Pintasilgo), 1994-1996
  • Chairman, 6th Conference of Parties UN Convention on Climate Change, 2000-2001
  • Special Envoy Secretary General United Nations for the World Summit on Sustainable Development, 2001-2003
  • Chairman, Board International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED), London, 2002-2004
  • Chairman, Water Supply and Sanitation Collaborative Council (WSSCC), Geneva, 2003-2004
  • Member, Board International Alert, London, 2003-2004
  • Member, Council Interpeace, Geneva, 2007-2012
  • President, Society for International Development (SID), Rome, 2008-2011

The Netherlands

  • Member, Evaluation Committee Netherlands Development Assistance, 1966-1969
  • Chairman, Local Department Krimpen aan de Lek, Labour Party (PvdA), 1967-1971
  • Member, Working Group Church and Development Cooperation, Council of Churches, 1968-1971
  • Member, Council Faculty of Economics, Erasmus University, Rotterdam, 1970-1971
  • Member, Missionary Council, Netherlands Reformed Church, 1970-1973
  • Member, Parliamentary Election Program Committee, Labour Party (PvdA), 1972
  • Member, Constitutional Program Committee, Labour Party (PvdA), 1976-1978
  • Chairman, Commission of Economic Affairs, Second Chamber Parliament of the Netherlands, 1986-1989
  • Deputy Chairman, Labour Party (PvdA), The Netherlands, 1987-1989
  • Chairman, Federation of Refugee Organisations in the Netherlands (Vluchtelingen Organisaties Nederland, VON), 2003-2004
  • Chairman, Program Committee European Elections, Labour Party (PvdA), 2008-2009
  • Chairman, Interchurch Peace Council (Interkerkelijk Vredesberaad, IKV), The Netherlands, 2008-2011
  • Associate Fellow, Centre International Conflict Analysis and Management (CICAM), Radboud University, Nijmegen, 2013- present
  • Lecturer, Amsterdam University College, Amsterdam, 2013- present


  • Columnist, Economisch-Statistische Berichten, 1969-1973
  • Member, Editorial Board, Wending, 1970-1973
  • Member, Editorial Board, Internationale Spectator, 1970-1973
  • Columnist, De Stem, 1979-1980
  • Chairperson, Editorial Board, UNCTAD Trade and Development Journal, 1980-1986
  • Columnist, Onze Wereld, 1984-1989
  • Member, Editorial Board, Socialisme en Democratie, 1986-1989
  • Columnist, Roodkoper/Nieuwe Liefde,  2003-2004 and 2007-present
  • Columnist, Vrij Nederland, 2007
  • Columnist, Vice Versa, 2009-present

See Publications


-  Dr. Honoris Causa, San Marcos University, Lima, Peru (1974)
-  Dr. Honoris Causa Institute of Social Studies, The Hague, The Netherlands (2002)
-  Dr. Honoris Causa Victoria University, Neuchatel, Switzerland (2015)
-  Grootlint Ere Orde van de Palm, Surinam (1977)
-  Ridder Orde van de Nederlandse Leeuw, The Netherlands (1978)
-  Gran Cruz Orden Bernardo O'Higgins, Chile (1993)
-  26th September Medal, Yemen (1996)
-  Defender of Democracy Award, Parliamentarians for Global Action (1997)
-  Officier Legion d'Honneur, France (2001)
-  Officier Orde van Oranje Nassau, The Netherlands (2002)
-  Global Environment Award, International Association for Impact Assessment (2002)
-  Honorary President Evert Vermeer Foundation (2007)

Foto: Kadir van Lohuizen